TWAIN-L Archives

Mark Twain Forum


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Tue, 6 Nov 2012 20:16:14 -0500
Mark Twain Forum <[log in to unmask]>
Cindy Lovell <[log in to unmask]>
Mark Twain Forum <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (85 lines)

The Mark Twain Prize discussion prompted me to add a poll
to the above article on HuffPost about the upcoming
honors for Hal Hobrook in Hannibal and Hartford.
I included the names listed in these posts and added a few based
on input from some of my students. Nothing scientific.
obviously, and this is just for fun. The Kennedy
Center does not consult the museum on this

Also, someone asked how frequently we will present the
Mark Twain Lifetime Achievement Award, and
the plan is to announce a recipient every two years. 

The poll on HuffPost asks: 

Who should win the Kennedy Center's Mark Twain Prize 
for American Humor Award next year? Ellen DeGeneres 
won in 2012. Past winners listed here:


Woody Allen
Samantha Bee
Andy Borowitz
Carol Burnett
Stephen Colbert
Janeane Garofalo
Hal Holbrook
Garrison Keillor
Norman Lear
Bill Maher
Sarah Silverman
Jon Stewart
Wanda Sykes

So, in honor of Election Day, please enjoy!


Cindy Lovell, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Mark Twain Boyhood Home & Museum
120 N. Main St., Hannibal MO 63401
Phone: 573-221-9010 ext. 402 | Cell: 386-748-1256 | Fax: 573-221-7975
Email: [log in to unmask] | Web site:

Have your ordered "Mark Twain: Words & Music" yet?  Details here:

"Let us endeavor so to live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry." ~Mark Twain
From: Mark Twain Forum [[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Ben Wise [[log in to unmask]]
Sent: Tuesday, November 06, 2012 12:13 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: The 15th Annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor is . . . . .

Love that quote. Thanks for reminding us.


----- Original Message -----
From: "Scott Holmes" <[log in to unmask]>
To: [log in to unmask]
Sent: Tuesday, November 6, 2012 11:10:34 AM
Subject: Re: The 15th Annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor is . . . . .

It seems to me that the hub of the issue about who gets the award
revolves around the difference between comedy and humor. Twain himself
provides an illustration in How to tell a story:

"The humorous story is told gravely; the teller does his best to conceal
the fact that he even dimly suspects that there is anything funny about
it; but the teller of the comic story tells you beforehand that it is
one of the funniest things he has ever heard, then tells it with eager
delight, and is the first person to laugh when he gets through. And
sometimes, if he has had good success, he is so glad and happy that he
will repeat the "nub" of it and glance around from face to face,
collecting applause, and then repeat it again. It is a pathetic thing to